CNHS Social Studies: Laurie Martin Department Chair



  •  
Showing results for "Professor named Smith at Elementary School"

Social Studies

  • "History must be written of, by, and for the survivors."

     


    Use this link to register to vote: 
     
    Columbus North High School Citizenship Test Results 2021-2022 - Semester 1: 
     
    Pass Rate:  92.9%
     
     
    Columbus North High School Citizenship Test Results 2021-2022 - Semester 2: 
     
    Pass Rate:  97.7%
     

    Social Studies Teachers

    Laurie Martin - Department Chair

    martinla@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Jerry Mihay mihayj@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Taylor Decker deckert@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Chad Russell russellc@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Zach Eckroth eckrothz@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Elyse Babb-Snider ebabb@butler.edu
    Rick Sluder sluderr@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Dan Marsh marshd@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Jared Novreske novreskej@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Natalie Perry perryn@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Evan Kuhn kuhne@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Drew Foster fosterd@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Emma Watkins   watkinse@bcsc.k12.in.us
    Sara Zimmerman zimmermans@bcsc.k12.in.us

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


     "The core mission is to educate students to become effective citizens."
    - National Council for the Social Studies

     



    An effective citizen is one who...

    -Has knowledge of our nation's Founding documents, civic institutions, and political process.
    -Embraces core democratic values and strives to live by them.
    -Accepts responsibility for the well-being of oneself, one's family , and the community.
    -Has knowledge of the people, history, and traditions that have shaped our local communities, our nation and the world.
    -Is aware of issues and events that have an impact on people at local, state, national, and global levels.
    -Seeks information from varied sources and perspectives to develop informed opinions and creative solutions.
    -Has the ability to collaborate effectively as a member of a group
    -Actively participate in civic and community life.

Course Descriptions and Information

  • World History

  • Geography and History of the World

  • United States History

  • United States History - Advanced Placement

  • United States Government

  • United States Government and Politics - Advanced Placement

  • Economics

  • Macroeconomics - Advanced Placement